NCSU logo

Cooperative Extension Logo

North Carolina
Christmas Trees

Extension Xmas Logo


Christmas Tree Portal Home | Information for Consumers | Information for Growers | Information for Retailers
Additional Resources | NCSU: MHCR&EC Home

Who's Who in Christmas Tree Production

NCSU Specialists | NCSU Administration | Tree Production Counties | NC Tree Associations | NC Dept of Ag | NC Forest Resources

NORTH CAROLINA STATE UNIVERSITY SPECIALISTS
Location Contact Email / Phone / Internet
MHCR&EC Jeff Owen, Area Extension Specialist
Christmas Tree Production, Extension Forestry, CNR
Email: jeff_owen@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.684.3562
Internet: http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/ fletcher/ staff/ jowen/index.html
MHCR&EC Dr. Jill Sidebottom, Area Extension Specialist
Mountain Conifer Integrated Pest Management, Extension Forestry, CNR
Email: jill_sidebottom@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.684.3562
Internet: http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/ fletcher/programs/xmas/staff/sidebot/index.html
MHCR&EC Dr. Ron Gehl, Assistant Professor and Extension Specialist
Soil Science, College of Agricultural and Life Sciences (CALS)

Email: ron_gehl@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.684.3562
Internet: http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/fletcher/staff/rgehl/index.html
MHCR&EC Dr. Kelly Ivors, Assistant Professor and Extension Specialist
Plant Pathology
Email: kelly_ivors@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.684.3562
Internet: http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/fletcher/staff/ivors/index.html
Caldwell CES Craig Adkins, Area Specialized Agent
Commercial Horticulture, including nurseries and Christmas trees, CALS
Email:craig_adkins@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.757.1290
Raleigh Dr. Mike Benson, Professor
Plant Pathology, CALS
Email: mike_benson@ncsu.edu
Phone: 919.515.3966
Raleigh Dr. John Frampton, Associate Professor and Christmas Tree Geneticist
Forestry-General, CNR
Email: john_frampton@ncsu.edu
Christmas Tree Genetics Program: http://www.cnr.ncsu.edu/fer/research/christmastreegenetics/ctg_index.html
Internet: http://www.cnr.ncsu.edu/fer/research/direct/frampton.php
Phone: 919.515.7580
Raleigh Dr. Larry Grand, Professor Emeritus
Plant Pathology, CALS
Email: larry_grand@ncsu.edu
Phone: 919.515.2667
Raleigh Dr. Fred Hain, Professor Emeritus
Entomology, CALS
Email: fred_hain@ncsu.edu
Internet: http://www.cals.ncsu.edu/entomology/hain
Phone: 919.515.3804
Raleigh Dr. Dennis Hazel, Assistant Professor and Extension Specialist
Extension Forestry, CNR
Email: dennis_hazel@ncsu.edu
Phone: 919.515.5573
Raleigh Dr. Eric Hinesley, Professor Emeritus
Horticultural Science, CALS
Email: eric_hinesley@ncsu.edu
Phone: 919.515.1223
Raleigh Dr. Charles Safley, Professor and Extension Economist
Agricultural and Resource Economics, CALS
Email: charles_safley@ncsu.edu
Phone: 919.515.4538
Internet: http://www.ag-econ.ncsu.edu/faculty/safley/safley.htm

Top

NORTH CAROLINA STATE UNIVERSITY ADMINISTRATION
Location Contact Email / Phone / Internet
College of Natural Resources (CNR) Dr. Mary Watzin, Dean Email: mary_watzin@ncsu.edu
Internet: http://www.cfr.ncsu.edu/
CNR Dr. Robert Bardon, Assistant Dean
Extension and Engagement
Email: robert_bardon@ncsu.edu
Internet: http://cnr.ncsu.edu/fer/direct/bardon.html
CNR - Forestry and Environmental Resources Dr. Barry Goldfarb, Head Email: barry_goldfarb@ncsu.edu
Internet: http://cnr.ncsu.edu/fer/index.html
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences (CALS) Dr. Richard Linton, Dean Email: richard_linton@ncsu.edu
Internet: http://harvest.cals.ncsu.edu/indexmain.cfm

Top

NORTH CAROLINA CHRISTMAS TREE PRODUCTION COUNTIES

Alleghany County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Alleghany Cooperative Extension Center

90 South Main Street, 3rd Floor
PO Box 7
Sparta, NC 28675
Phone: 336.372.5597
Internet: http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/alleghany/

  • Teresa Herman, Ag Agent
Email:teresa_herman@ncsu.edu
Phone: 336.372.5597
  • Brad Edwards, IPM Program Assistant
Email: brad_edwards@ncsu.edu
Phone: 336.846.5850
Alleghany Christmas Tree Association Internet: http://www.alleghanycta.com/
Alleghany County Evergreen Trail Christmas Farms Internet: http://www.evergreentrailchristmasfarms.com/
Ashe County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Ashe Cooperative Extension Center

134 Government Circle, Suite 202
Jefferson, NC 28640
Phone: 336.846.5850
Internet: http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/ashe/

  • Travis Birdsell, Ag Agent
Email: travis_birdsell@ncsu.edu
Phone: 336.846.5850
  • Brad Edwards, IPM Program Assistant
Email: brad_edwards@ncsu.edu
Phone: 336.846.5850
Ashe County Christmas Tree Association Internet: http://www.ashecountychristmastrees.com/
Phone: 336.219.2650
Avery County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Avery Cooperative Extension Center

805 Cranberry Street
Newland, NC 28657
Phone: 828.733.8270
Internet: http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/avery/

  • Jerry Moody, County Director
Email: jerry_moody@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.733.8270
  • Doug Hundley, AG Technician
Email: doug_hundley@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.733.8270
Avery County Christmas Tree and Nurseryman's Association Internet: http://www.averycountytrees.org
Buncombe County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Buncombe Cooperative Extension Center

94 Coxe Ave.
Asheville, NC 28801
Phone: 828.255.5522
Internet: http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/buncombe/

  • Cliff Ruth
Email:cliff_ruth@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.255.5522
Cherokee County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Cherokee Cooperative Extension Center

39 Peachtree St., Suite 103
Murphy, NC 28906
Phone: 828.837.2210
Internet: http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/cherokee/

  • Keith Wood, AG Agent
Email: keith_wood@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.837.2910

Top

Clay County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Clay Cooperative Extension Center

Creekside Plaza Suite 15
P.O. Box 156
Hayesville NC 28904
Phone: 828.389.6305
Internet: http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/clay/

  • Silas Brown, AG Agent
Email: silas_brown@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.369.6305
Graham County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Graham Cooperative Extension Center

Smith Howell Building
39 South Main St.
P.O. Box 486
Robbinsville, NC 28771
Phone: 828.479.7979
Internet: http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/graham/

  • Randy Collins, AG Agent
Email: randy_collins@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.489.7979
Haywood County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Haywood Cooperative Extension Center

P.O. Box 308
589 Raccoon Rd., Suite 118
Waynesville, NC 28786
Phone: 828.456.3575
Internet: http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/haywood/

  • Tim Matthews, AG Agent
Email: tim_matthews@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.456.3575

Top

Jackson County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Jackson Cooperative Extension Center

538 Scotts Creek Rd, Suite 205
Sylva, NC 28779
Phone: 828.586.4009
Internet: http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/jackson/

  • Christine Bredenkamp, AG Agent
Email: christine_bredenkamp@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.586.4009 488.3848
Jackson County Christmas Tree Association Internet: http://www.jacksoncountytrees.com
Macon County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Macon Cooperative Extension Center

Agricultural Services Center
193 Thomas Heights Rd.,
Franklin, North Carolina, 28734
Phone: 828.349.2046
Internet: http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/macon/

  • Alan Durden, County Director
Email: alan_durden@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.349.2046
Madison County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Madison Cooperative Extension Center

P.O. Box 609
20 Bailey's Branch Road
Marshall, NC 28753
Phone: 828.649.2411
Internet: http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/madison/

  • Ross Young, County Director
Email: ross_young@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.649.2411
McDowell County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
McDowell Cooperative Extension Center

60 East Court St.
Marion, NC 28752
Phone: 828.652.8104 ext 332
Internet: http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/mcdowell/

  • Molly Sandfoss, County Director
Email:molly_sandfoss@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.652.7121
  • Craig Adkins, Specialized Agent
Email: craig_adkins@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.757.1290
Mitchell County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Mitchell Cooperative Extension Center

PO Box 366
10 S Mitchell Ave.
Bakersville, NC 28705
Phone: 828.688.4811
Internet: http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/mitchell/

  • Jeff Vance, County Director
Email: jeffery_vance@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.688.4811
Mitchell County Christmas Tree Growers

68 Dale Hill Rd
Bakersville, NC 28705
Phone: 828.688.4577

Top

Rutherford County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Rutherford Cooperative Extension Center

193 Callahan-Koon Rd., Suite 164
Spindale, NC 28160
Phone: 828.287.6010
Internet: http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/rutherford/

  • Janice McGuinn, AG Agent
Email: janice_mcquinn@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.287.6015
Swain County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Swain Cooperative Extension Center

PO Box 2329
60 Almond School Road
Bryson City, NC
Phone: 828.488.3848
Internet: http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/swain/

  • Christine Bredenkamp, AG Agent
Email: christine_bredenkamp@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.586.4009
Transylvania County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Transylvania Cooperative Extension Center

203 E Morgan St.
Brevard, NC 28712
Phone: 828.884.3109
Internet: http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/transylvania/

  • Cliff Ruth, Area Ag Agent
Email: cliff_ruth@ncsu.edu
Phone: 828.697.4891
Watauga County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Watauga Cooperative Extension Center

Agricultural Services Center
971 West King Street
Boone, NC 28607
Phone: 828.264.3061
Internet: http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/watauga/

  • Jim Hamilton, County Director
Email: jim_hamilton@ncsu.edu
  • Brad Edwards, IPM Program Assistant
Email: brad_edwards@ncsu.edu
Phone: 336.846.5850
Watauga County Nurserymen's Association Internet: http://www.watauganurserymen.org
Yancey County
Organization / Contact Address / Email / Phone / Internet
Yancey Cooperative Extension Center

10 Orchard St
Burnsville, NC 28714
Phone: 828.682.6186
Internet: http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/yancey/

  • Stanley Holloway, Ag Agent

Phone: 828.682.7687
Email: stanley_holloway@ncsu.edu

Top

STATE CHRISTMAS TREE ASSOCIATIONS
Organization Contact /Address Email / Phone / Internet
North Carolina Christmas Tree Association Jennifer Greene, Executive Director
577-3 George Wilson Rd
PO Box 1937
Boone, NC 28607
Email:info@ncchristmastrees.com
Phone: 800.562.8789
Internet: http://ncchristmastrees.com
Eastern North Carolina Christmas Tree Growers

Donny Doby, Association President
150 Doby Rd.
Cameron, NC 28326
dcdoby@embarqmail.com

Phone: 910-245-3265
Internet:
http://www.nc-chooseandcut.com/

Top

NC DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE & CONSUMER SERVICES
Location Contact /Address Email / Phone / Internet
Marketing Division Bill Glenn, Marketing Specialist
WNC Farmers Market
570 Brevard Road
Asheville, NC 28806
Email: bill.glenn@ncagr.gov
Internet: http://www.ncagr.com/markets/
facilit/farmark/ashevill/index.htm

Phone: 828-253-1691 ext 13
Fax: 828-252-2025
Marketing Division John Hammond, Marketing Specialist
Marketing Center
1020 Mail Service Center,
Raleigh NC 27699-1020

Email: john.hammond@ncagr.gov
Internet: http://www.ncagr.gov/markets/facilities/
marketingcenters/ncdahq.htm

Phone: 919.707.3147
Fax: 919.717.3586

Marketing Division NC Green Industry Internet: http://www.ncgreenindustry.org
Marketing Division NC Farm Fresh Internet: http://www.ncfarmfresh.com
Marketing Division Got to Be NC http://www.ncagr.gov/markets/gottobe/#start
Food & Drug Protection Division — Pesticide Section Main website

Internet: http://www.agr.state.nc.us/SPCAP/pesticides/index.htm

Pesticide Section Contacts sorted by county Internet: http://www.ncagr.com
/fooddrug/pesticid/insp.htm
Agronomic Division Main website Internet: http://www.ncagr.com/
agronomi/index.htm
Soil Testing Section Main website Internet: http://www.ncagr.com/
agronomi/sthome.htm
Plant Industry Division Main website http://www.ncagr.com/plantind/
Plant Protection Section Main website http://www.ncagr.gov/plantindustry/plant/index.htm
Plant Protection Specialists Map http://www.ncagr.gov/plantindustry/plant/nursery/fstaff.htm
Plant Protection Specialist: Crossnore Tim Hartley
Madison-Yancey-Avery-Mitchell
Phone: 828-733-2337
Email: Tim.Hartley@ncagr.gov
Plant Protection Specialist: Boone Chad Taylor
Alleghany-Ashe-Watauga-Caldwell-Alexander
Phone: 336-466-0478
Email: Chad.Taylor@ncagr.gov
Plant Protection Specialist: Sylva Jim Corbin
Cherokee-Clay-Graham-Swain-Macon-Jackson-Haywood
Phone: 828-421-5445
Email: Jim.Corbin@ncagr.gov
Plant Protection Specialist: Pisgah Forest Sue Dial
Buncome-Henderson-Transylvania-Polk
Phone: 828-577-0915
Email: Susan.Dial@ncagr.gov
Plant Protection Specialist: Morganton Wayne Packard
Burke-Catawba-McDowell-Cleveland-Rutherford
Phone: 828-430-1547
Email: Wayne.Packard@ncagr.gov
Pesticide Division Inspector Travis Snodgrass , Pesticide Inspector I Email: Travis.Snodgrass@ncagr.gov
Pesticide Division Inspector Charles Clark, Pesticide Inspector II Email: Charles.Clark@ncagr.gov

Top

NORTH CAROLINA FOREST SERVICE
Department Contact Email / Phone / Internet
NC Forest Service General Information Main webpage Internet: http://www.ncforestservice.gov/
NC Forest Service County Ranger Contacts Internet: http://www.ncforestservice.gov/Contacts/contacts_main.htm
contacts_main.htm
Forestry Store Tree Seedlings Internet: http://nc-forestry.stores.yahoo.net/
Christmas Tree Genetics Dr. Ken Roeder, Forest Geneticist Phone: 919.731.7988 ext 206
Linville River Nursery Anna Trivette Phone: 828.733.5236
Nursery & Tree Improvement Head, Nursery & Tree Improvement Program Phone: 919.731.7988
Tree Improvement Clyde Leggins, Tree Improvement West Supervisor Phone: 828.438.3783
Pest Control Program Rob Trickel , Pest Control Program Head Phone: 919.733.2162 ext 256
Pest Control West, Morganton Forestry Center Brian Heath
Craig Lawing
Email: Brian.Heath@ncagr.gov
Email: Craig.Lawing@ncagr.gov
Phone: 828.438.6270

Top

NCSU Specialists | NCSU Administration | Tree Production Counties | NC Tree Associations | NC Dept of Ag | NC Forest Resources


NC State University and NC Cooperative Extension Christmas Tree Website
http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/Christmastrees/

NC State University | NC Cooperative Extension | Privacy | Policies

Updated February 26, 2013